Hooray, Hooray, it’s the 8th of May!

Where has this year gone?  Winter lasted so long, and now we are already into May.  It’s absolutely gorgeous out today, a balmy 57 degrees, warm and toasty in the sunshine.

I have the creepin’ crud.  One of the worst colds I remember ever having, but at least it’s not the Swine Flu!  Yesterday I wasn’t sure I wanted to live, today is a much better day!

Brian is working out in the “yard”, and I use the word loosely.  We bought this raw land two years ago.  Eleven acres, with two that are on the valley floor, and the rest are on a very steep mountainside.  We are talking about Washington Mountains, not Kansas mountains!! ( See picture below) The valley floor is probably only about a quarter mile across, so we are nestled in this lightly wooded area which is just 4 miles from the beautiful Columbia River, and about 5-6 from Lake Chelan. We saw this property and knew this was where we wanted to build our home someday.

Someday came sooner than we actually had planned.  We broke ground in July last year, and moved in in November. It was built by a company with a limited number of floor plans, and with owner involvement, which saved us quite a bit of money–we paid something like $78 a square foot.  That’s pretty reasonable for around here.

We made the decision to start building in February, I think.  Ah, the joy of permits.  And septics.  And all the other pre-construction things that have to be in place before you can start.  We had actually hoped to start by June, but we had to wait on things like a flood inspection on our property.  Okay, so this is really funny–from the highway along the river, where we turn onto our road, to where our house is, there is a raise in elevation of about 1000 feet!  To the lake isn’t quite that much, but the chance of us being flooded out without another flood like Noah had to deal with is pretty unlikely!

We started the building process knowing we needed to sell our house…the market wasn’t quite as bad in February as it is right now! But we had a contingency offer on it by September, and in November they dropped the contingency and we closed in January.  We feel very blessed!

Back to the limited number of floor plans… needless to say, none of the floorplans had anything called a “longarm studio” in them, although ours does have what is called a “craft room”.  It is currently called our “crap room” as it has turned into a mud porch.  It’s a great room to have, and we’ve added 12′ of 24″ deep cabinets–we just need to fill them and get more things put away!

We knew we would use two bays of the attached three car garage for the studio, but what they wanted $$$ for the change order for them to do it was rediculous. So they built it according to the original plans, and finally in April we were able to get the walls up, flooring down and facade changed–and I love the changes!!

 

Before....

Before....

After!!

After!!

I’m really glad we were able to change the studio space to look like living space on the outside because we have a 3 car shop 30′ x 60′ just 15′ from the house! So it looked like garages for 6! The remaining house garage, once the studio stuff actually gets moved from there into the studio, will be for storage and probably the 4-wheeler.  In the bad weather, Brian will probably park his Honda Civic in there that he commutes to work in–rather than having to go out in the weather to the shop garage.  There is room in it for my Rav-4, but he goes out more than I do, so it makes sense for him to park there more than me.

Hopefully, by winter we will actually have built the screen porch between the buildings, which will keep us out of the weather anyway.  The neighbors have one and we fell in love with theirs…unfortunately, where ours is we don’t have the same view as theirs–ours is a tunnel view limited by the house and the shop on either side. :(  Regardless, it will be great to be out of the weather, and I will be really glad that the animals will have some place to get out of the weather when we leave them outdoors.  There will be a doggy door for them.  We have coyotes around, and hopefully if there was ever a problem they wouldn’t follow them into this “human” space.  Besides, our little Japanese Chin/Shih Tzu Ichiro would most likely be sleeping in there in the first place if he were out at night.  He’s the independant little cuss that sometimes won’t come in. Sam, our Portuguese Water Dog is easy to get in at night–he likes all the comforts of sleeping on a people bed!

So, Brian is done playing, um, working in the yard and is putting the second coat of ceiling paint on in my studio!  Yippee!  After that a second coat of wall paint and then I can move in ALL of my studio stuff–imagine it–all of my longarm stuff IN ONE PLACE!! It’s been awkward working out of our guest room with just some of my thread, some of my tools, etc. I’m getting so excited!  At least my A1 is set up in there.  Did I mention that the drywall guy finished on Wednesday, the primer went up and ceiling painted, and Bamboo flooring went down on Thursday for a Friday set up and delivery of the A1??? :)

Yup–and this was the Friday before MQX, so I was working on refining my handouts for classes and  everything else that comes with preparing for a class by one who procrastinates until the last minute!  I had my old handouts for my Feathers, Freeform to Formal class, but there was so much more I was able to add this time around, and I totally revamped my Border Blitz class…I still hate the name. It’s always been Border Bonanza….I think I first taught in in something like ’99…but someone else took the name for their border class, so I had to come up with something different. :(

FOR SALE!

Oh, back to the Studio…The Statler is out there, but it isn’t set up and running yet.  By the way, if anyone is interested in a gently used Nolting/Statler set up, let me know!  It works perfectly, and is still totally supported by Statler, even though Gammil owns it now.  This was a condition that Paul put into the contract as I understand it. There are plenty of us out there!! It has the latest upgrades installed, and works perfectly.  The upgrades  will continue to be free.  Reason it’s for sale?? DOWNSIZING!!!  We are IQ dealers, and I have the IQ set up on the A1, and I really would like to get down to one machine! I know, I know, everyone else is looking at adding a machine! But I’m spending more time digitizing than quilting for others now. This also means that my Nolting Pro is for sale also.  We were Nolting dealers for several years. Again, this is a gently used machine, used mostly for demo.  If you are interested, just post a comment and I will contact you by email.

If I keep typing instead of posting, it will no longer be the 8th of May, so I will post it now with thoughts still running through my head!  I can always add another post, right?

About shannonhicks

I'm a professional longarm quilter and designer/digitizer for designs for computerized quilting systems. We are dealers for IntelliQuilter, and I teach longarm and AutoSketch classes in my studio in Washington State. I'm married to a wonderful man and have two great kids, married to incredible spouses--what more could a person want!

Posted on May 8, 2009, in New House. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love the house pictures!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

